Twitter-iconFaceBook-icon32x32

Education

SANDS Lothians are very involved in teaching sessions with 4th year medical students at Edinburgh University. This is an extremely valuable insight into the experience of perinatal death for the medical students. SANDS Lothians Operations Manager usually attends these sessions with a bereaved parent. The students are always very moved by the parents' experiences. If you are interested in speaking at these sessions, please contact Dorothy at the office for more information.

We also speak at Napier University to students and qualified midwives.

Furthermore, we offer student midwives placements with SANDS Lothians as part of their training. This can be a very beneficial placement as it allows students to gain experience in supporting bereaved parents and their families after they have experienced the death of their baby.

Next meetings

Befriending in Edinburgh

Please call to arrange befriending with one of our experienced befrienders on a one to one basis or as a couple. Times are available Monday to Thursday.
email info@sands-lothians.org.uk 0131 622 6263

 

Befriending Group - West Lothian

Craigsfarm Maree Walk Craigshill Livingston

Monday 8th September ~ 7pm

Monday 13th October ~ 7pm

Monday 10th November ~ 7pm

Pregnancy Support Groups

Tuesday 2nd September 7pm ~ Craigsfarm

Monday 15th September 7pm ~ Craiglockhart

Tuesday 7th October 7pm ~ Craigsfarm

Monday 20th October 7pm ~ Craiglockhart

IVF/Fertility Support - Edinburgh

Craiglockhart Office

Tuesday 26th August ~ 7pm

Tuesday 16th September ~ 7pm

Tuesday 21st October ~ 7pm

Tuesday 18th November ~ 7pm 

Parent & Toddler - Craigsfarm

Tuesday 30th September ~ 9.30-11.30am

Tuesday 28th October ~ 9.30-11.30am